hits counter
Home | Buying Guide | Comparison | Top Picks | Memory Foam | Latex | Toppers | Your Reviews
Return to Mattress Wiz Homepage
stack of mattresses bed with red bedspread bed with brown bedspread blue and white mattress

Ikea Sultan Hansbo Twin Size Mattress

by Christine S.
(Crosby, TX)

Last month I purchased the Sultan Hansbo twin size mattress for my 6 year old daughter because her old mattress got lumpy in less than a year. So far this has held up nice considering it’s used for more than just to sleep on.


My daughter, like most youngsters, loves to jump on her bed. I got the fortunate opportunity (sarcasm) to test the mattress out when my daughter had a bad dream and took up most of the room on my king size bed in the middle of the night. I was quite surprised by how well I slept. It was just right, not too soft not too stiff. I did note now that it’s cold that this mattress does get a little stiff, but once we started running the heater it seemed to be just fine.

I purchased this online and picked it up at the store. The listed price was $279 but with my gift card I paid $100 out of pocket. This mattress so far has proven to be well worth the money! I had the hubby test it out and now my husband and I are going to purchase this mattress in a king size at the end of the year.

We have had our current mattress for about a year and half and from day one we were not completely satisfied. We paid well over $1200 for the pillow top style thinking it was a good price to spend for top comfort. This mattress proved to us that we overspent on our current mattress. This, for us, is a good investment to get a good night’s sleep on a comfortable mattress. The quality is good and the price is perfect for those on a limited budget.

I would also like to note that this mattress is easy to clean and keep clean. I would recommend this particular mattress style to parents of young children. Since I started shopping at Ikea 5 years ago, I can say their brand and products have greatly improved. I will be looking forward to buying this mattress and maybe even a new bed frame to go along with it.

I would rate this mattress a 5 star. Not only was the product great but the sales people were helpful in answering our questions that day we went to pick it up. Pick up was fast and easy and I didn’t leave the store even remotely frustrated.

Comments for Ikea Sultan Hansbo Twin Size Mattress

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Feb 05, 2016
Rating
starstar
Too soft: causes backpain!
by: Dimos

I have this mattress for couple of years and I realize I get back pain from time to time. I didn't think it could be from the mattress but when I slept on my girlfriend's mattress (not sure which model) I felt the difference! The Sultan Hansbo is extremely soft which may sound comfortable but not good for your back! I am planning to replace it.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to IKEA Mattress Reviews.

Ikea Sultan Hansbo Review

by Kate
(Queens NY)

My boyfriend and I sleep on an IKEA Sultan Hansbo mattress. We purchased it at Ikea Brooklyn, and most of the reason for buying it was the price. Ikea has cheap, good quality furniture.

We needed a new bed frame, and while we were there, we decided to try out the mattresses. Ours was pretty old and crappy, and we had been talking about getting a new one for months.

We decided on the Sultan Hansbo because it's nice and soft. He likes a pretty soft mattress, and I let him have the final decision. He loves it, but I'm not as big of a fan. I like a little bit of a firmer mattress than he does. We've been sleeping on it for about 6 months.

I like that the cost was so low... it was less than $300. It was definitely worth that price. We got it delivered, since we don't have a car. They delivered the mattress and the bed for a flat fee, which was great. We'll definitely be buying furniture from Ikea again. I would buy another mattress from Ikea as well, but I think we need to try them out a little better next time.

Our bed is great for snuggling, because you sink right in, but after sleeping for eight or nine hours, it definitely starts to wear on my back. My boyfriend has never felt better, though! So I think it's just about taste. If you like a soft, squishy mattress, the Sultan Hansbo is the way to go.

They say that a memory foam mattress can have an icky, plastic smell when you first get it. We didn't have that problem. That was a pleasant surprise!

I'd give the mattress three stars out of five. He would give it five stars out of five. So I guess that works out to a four star mattress.

Comments for Ikea Sultan Hansbo Review

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Feb 12, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
flat slats or curved?
by: Anonymous

Hello we just got our hansbo bed and feels ffirmer then it did in the store. Di you use the curved slats or flat slats.

Apr 16, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Not what I expected
by: D84

I bought this mattress a bit more than a month from now. When I tried in the store I loved it. It felt really comfortable and I thought that was what I needed.

I took it home and slept on it the first night. Next morning I woke up with a stiff back, which I did not experience before. I thought this was normal as I was switching from a very very firm mattress to this plush-memory foam one.

Now it's been almost 2 months and I cannot take it anymore. Every night is the same story. I am 5'2" and about 63 kg and I read in other websites that sometimes, because of the thick pillowtop (memory foam) your body doesn't even reach the springs.

I am returning it this weekend and I will exchange it for a Sultan Hanestad. It seems to be a better fit, as it is firm and very well rated when it comes to back support.

Nothing against the HANSBO, it is just not for me.

Oct 12, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Mattress firmness compared to the store model
by: Anonymous

The reason your bed feels firmer than the model in the store is because they put it under stress and people lay on it a lot to show you how your bed will feel after a few months of sleeping on it. The woman in the store told me it will feel the same after about a month... which is why you get three months to return it if you don't like it! It definitely is firmer than the store model but I'm sure it will get better over time. Also it says that the memory foam will get firmer when it is in cold conditions.

Mar 29, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstar
|Sultan Hansbo
by: Charlie

Just received my Hansbo and almost started crying after testing it out.
It was NOTHING like the one in the store felt like.
It was much firmer than the one I had just gotten rid of (because I wanted a softer mattress).
Rang the store and they told me I had to put the heat up in my place to 'warm' the bed up for a few days, just what I need in menopause and suffering from hot flashes, I could not believe he was being serious?!
Blamed that it was cold from being in the warehouse and its Canada?!! its spring and its well above zero today, please...
What happens in the summer when I put the AC on, I have never heard of this before.
Disappointing that I am going to have to give this days/weeks or months to see if it changes when what I really need is a good nights sleep now!
No one in the store mentioned that it would need to be 'heated' up or how long it would take to acclimate to my body.
Guess time will tell but initially quite disappointing.

May 06, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Sultan Hansbo
by: Anonymous

Got my Hansbo a week ago. Feels exactly the same as it did in the store. This is by far the best mattress of its kind for the price. I have had many other brands of mattresses and nothing compares. It is the absolute most comfortable mattress. I can only compare it the quality of mattresses you will find at a 4 or 5 star hotel. That kind of mattress when you slip into it, its just real comfortable.

Of course, mattresses are like food. Everyone has there personal opinions about a mattress. It only works if it makes your back feel better.

Oct 12, 2014
Rating
starstar
Look further....
by: JackL

These mattresses seem comfortable and firm in the store. after owning one for 2 months (with matching box spring) the pillow top and springs are already compressing and I'm not that big a guy (5'5 180 lbs) bought this mattress due to back problems and needing a better mattress...... all I can say is don't bother these mattresses are like everything else ikea... look good but actually particle board junk.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to IKEA Mattress Reviews.

Sultan Hansbo Is Heaven

by Daniel K
(Los Angeles, CA)

The IKEA mattress that caught my attention, or should I say, the mattress that took me "back" was the Sultan Hansbo. It was like love at first sight. Our encounter on that dance floor I call the mattress department was undeniable. I loved the sensation of the Hansbo when I danced and swayed in bed, enjoying the plush, memory-tastic, quality put into it.

I especially like the fabric left to lay on top. My back was supported through-out this waltz leaving me with no complaints about increasing the firmness or decreasing the softness or whatever adjustment you can think of. Without any complaints, I call this heaven.

I purchased this a month ago and have used it ever since. The durability is great and is holding up like wine in the presence of time. I paid $280.00 before taxes for it and I thought for the price of bliss, this was a steal. Looking at the big picture, i'm glad I got a Queen size.

Compared to my encounters in the past, the Hansbo is by for one of the best bargains in terms of bedding products at IKEA. For comfort I would give this 4 stars. For quality I would give this 4 stars. For price I would give this 4 stars.

I would buy this mattress again, but not often. Since I know the durability is great. After owning this IKEA mattress, I really don't think I'd consider other brands within this price range.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to IKEA Mattress Reviews.

What Are The Top Rated Mattresses?

Go To Mattress Owner Reviews - Main Page

Return To Mattress Wiz Home Page

Popular Pages

hotel bed
Top Mattresses

bed with white foam mattress
Memory Foam Mattress Reviews

ratings checklist
Mattress Ratings

smiling family on bed
Your Reviews


Please Take A Quick Poll

What Is Most Important When Buying A New Mattress?
Choose One:
Quality
Price
Comfort
Features

Copyright © 2009-2015 Mattress-Wiz.com. Content protected by DMCA. All Rights Reserved. All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners.

Mattress Wiz is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

This website is for information purposes only and is not intended to substitute for medical advice and has not been evaluated by the FDA or AMA. For medical advice always consult a physician..

Copyright © 2009-2015 Mattress-Wiz.com. Content protected by DMCA. All Rights Reserved. All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners.


Top of the Page